Explaining Myself

One of my readers pointed out to me I may have gone a little far with one of the phrases in my last post. She was was also kind enough to say the post was still funny which was nice. The phrase in question was “I hunt and I’m extremely likely to shoot you if you try to stop me owning enough guns to compensate for my impotence caused by a lifetime of sexual abuse from my father”

And of course, she was absolutely right. There’s nothing remotely funny about child abuse. This post isn’t an apology as in “sorry, I won’t do it again”. It’s more an apology along the lines of “sorry for being so horrifically crass but the mental state I get in when I write these posts means it isn’t possible to guarantee I won’t write something worse in the future”.

Full disclosure: that wasn’t even the first thing I thought of writing. Originally it was going to be “…compensate for my tiny penis.” But somehow that didn’t seem angry enough. Ah well. The challenge lies in me finding ways to be angry, abusive and crass without belittling things that I think are important.

Fun and games.

4 Comments

Filed under General

4 responses to “Explaining Myself

  1. “The challenge lies in me finding ways to be angry, abusive and crass without belittling things that I think are important.”

    And thereby curing yourself of this full strength anger? Also I must say I wasn’t being kind, I just genuinely thought it was funny… BUT I do understand what you mean when you say “orry for being so horrifically crass but the mental state I get in when I write these posts means it isn’t possible to guarantee I won’t write something worse in the future”

    That’s pretty scary. If this blog helps you get it out of your system and then reflecting back on it helps you monitor and channel your anger (eventually diminishing its magnificence) then I’m 100% behind that!

    off the topic, I find that I write better when I’m angry, sometimes it helps me think a lot clearly… or is that like the defense drunk ppl use? (I drive better when I’m drunk)

  2. Hmmmm, maybe I should blog while drunk. No, wait a minute, I spent a night a few years ago haunting chat rooms with a friend when we were both drunk. We spent the whole night picking fights. Only with people who deserved it, mind you :) So god only knows what I do if I blogged drunk.

  3. erm… you just made a post about being an aberration coz you don’t drink. so which is it?

  4. As a rule I don't drink, on rare occasions I indulge. Usually vodka mixed with something so I can't taste the alcohol. That's the reason I don't drink, I can't stand the taste. Whether it's beer, wine or spirits I just can't stomach it.

Leave a Reply

