Idiot users and how to deal with them

One of the most common complaints I’ve heard from IT workers over my years of working in the industry is “users are idiots” or some variant thereof.  It’s an understandable but ultimately self-defeating attitude.  Users are your customers, they’re the reason you have a job – treat them badly enough and you won’t have them or a job for long. 

This is true whether they are literally customers (people who buy a product you make) or metaphorical customers (the people within your company who use the product you develop).  This attitude is the primary reason IT workers have a reputation for arrogance in the business world.

This is not a touchy-feely “always put the customer first” post.  Some users are truly stupid.  Many more, while not being inherently stupid, are capable of behaving in what seem to be incredibly stupid ways.  A couple of my favourite examples from previous jobs:

One of the many times I was “lucky” enough to be working in the public service, I was working on the development of a global intranet for a division of the federal government’s foreign trade department.  This was an intranet to serve over 100 overseas offices and one of the top public servants from Canberra came in to see how it was going.  This guy looked like a stereotype of a British major-general with a huge walrus moustache.  He gave off a vibe that made it obvious he considered us lucky to be worthy of his attention.

I started the demo I had been giving users from various offices (which had been going quite well with other users).  I opened the home page and started to explain how clicking on the various links would let you complete certain tasks and invited him to try it for himself.  He did this by picking the mouse up from the desk and trying to use it like a TV remote – pointing it at the part of the screen he wanted to use, clicking madly, then berating me because “it wasn’t working”.  I resisted the urge to ask “are you from the past?”

In another case I was running a training session with a group and one user in particular was having trouble so I was taking him through the process again:

ME: Right click on that link.

HIM: I am!

ME: No, you need to right click.  With the right mouse button.

HIM: I know how to use a mouse, I’m clicking it right and it isn’t working.

ME: Sorry, I didn’t mean right as in “correct”.  There are two buttons on the mouse; one is on the left side, on is on the right.  When I say “right click” I mean click the button on the right hand side.  I’m not passing judgement on whether or not you are correct.

HIM: You don’t have to talk to me as if I’m stupid.

ME: You reckon?

At this point I absolutely did not trust myself to keep speaking to this person and so called for a break.  I bring these stories up firstly to provide a bit of a laugh (hopefully) and second, to illustrate that, yes, we do see some truly stupid user behaviour from time to time.  So this is the recurring conundrum faced by IT workers: users behave like idiots but it’s a bad idea to treat them like they’re stupid because our jobs depend on them.

The first coping strategy I would suggest is the one I described above: take a break.  It often doesn’t occur to people to stop a conversation that’s going nowhere.  Do it in the appropriate way, of course.  Saying: “Let’s get back to this later.  I’ve made a note of your issues and I’ll look into them more then get back to you,” works way better than “Shut up!  You’re stupid!  I’m not talking to you any more.” 

Likewise, email doesn’t have to be answered instantly (despite what some people seem to think).  If you get what you think is a stupid email, take some time to think about a reply.  Get a second opinion if you can.  Just don’t fire off a quick response that makes it clear you think the user is stupid.

It’s also important to be able to determine when the “stupid user” behaviour isn’t an IT issue at all, even though it’s being directed at IT.  If a user’s system isn’t working because of the crap they’ve installed on their machine (“Download a free animated screen saver?  That sounds like a great idea – what could possibly go wrong?”) that isn’t an IT issue, it’s a HR issue because they’re misusing their PC.  If a user lack basic computer literacy that isn’t an IT issue, it’s a training issue.  If a user keeps bugging individual developers and eating up their time rather than following established channels, that’s a management issue.

One of the most important things to learn when dealing with stupid user behaviour is recognising  when dealing with a stupid user isn’t part of your skill set.  Most developers aren’t hired for their people skills – it’s great if you have good people skills but it’s important to be honest (both with yourself and with others) when you don’t.  That’s why Business Analysts, Team Leaders and Project Managers exist.  If you’re in one of these roles and you have lousy people skills then something is seriously wrong.

At the risk of ending with a platitude, if you aren’t part of the solution then you’re part of the problem.  It’s easy to bitch and moan about how stupid users are (all too often it’s like shooting fish in a barrel) but that does nothing to make the situation better.  In a world where IT work is increasingly commoditised and a wider range of jobs are in danger of being outsourced, people skills become increasingly valuable.  So learning how to deal with stupid users can save your job as well as your sanity.  I’ll borrow from another well-known platitude to close on a positive note:

There are no stupid users – just stupid situations.*

(*caveat: there really are some stupid users)

60 Comments

Filed under Work

60 responses to “Idiot users and how to deal with them

  1. Most of the time, in IT, the problem is 20 inches in front of the screen.

  2. PEBCAK error: Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard.

  3. So I’m taking a CS class for the first time in a bunch of years (this whole finish the degree thing) and I said to one of my clients today on my way out:

    “You know, I’m writing this code for class, it’s kinda relaxing, there are no customers.”

    reasons a CS degree is not based in reality #n.

  4. I know what you mean, finishing a degree. On that same path in Taiwan right now…

    But seriously, isn’t Snap annoying? It’s really starting to bug me and I plan on taking it out!

  5. Fi

    At the risk of becoming a ‘stupid reader’, I was wondering if you could please explain the expression you used about ‘shooting fish in a barrel’. At present I dont have any fish, a barrel or a gun, so am unable to test it!

    Does it mean ‘pointless’?!?! What???

    We have no end of stupid users where I work and the most common problem is definitely age and forgetfulness – they can’t even remember their log on details half of the time! old folk eh?!

    Sorry, nearly forgot to say: “Problem Exists Between Chair And Keyboard” – that’s great. I am definitely using that at work this week.

  6. MrPete

    Another great acronym for this situation….

    PICNIC – Problem In Chair Not In Computer

    Of course it helps to remember when building a foolproof system that nothing is quite so ingenious as a fool.

  7. I took out snap.com just a few days ago through my dns block logs, range. It’s the kind of pointless crap that makes me rant several pages in online forums, though they don’t really want me there, or understand what I’m saying.

  8. “Shooting fish in a barrel” is something which is far to easy to do.

    The fish can’t get out of the way, all you need to do is stick the gun in and shoot away. (Preferably a shotgun.) You’re guaranteed to end up with some dead fish. (Why fish? Why not any other animal? I guess fish would have the most difficulty escaping from a barrel.)

    So the phrase implies that something is unfairly easy.

  9. Fi

    erm thank you!

    surely it’s hard to shoot fish in a barrel. does the water not slow/stop the bullet? do the fish not swim out the way??

  10. stupidtom

    the best parts of my day are when i can no longer trust myself to speak. awesome post!

  11. I used to be a truely ‘stupid user’. Fortunately, I got my bluff in on the Bastard boys when they were very small. So they didn’t tell me what an ignorant ass I was while teaching me. I got the greatest compliment from the eldest not long ago. He said if I were younger (that puke) I would be a uber user. :-D It is all thanks to them for their patience and teaching skill.

  12. Salamaat,
    So true! But to be fair IT-ers do have a chip on their shoulder…nothing like pasty dweebs talking in geek code to confuse the user even further ;)

    ah well, i love the way you manage to fish out all these situations, really astute of you.

  13. xorroxmas

    you made my day, now I know I am not the only poor schmuck thinking some users cant be helped,
    I hear you specially the part the more stupid they are the more insulted they feel

  14. Yes good post. I’m not alone after all. haha
    Thanx for that,
    Davin

  15. Blog of the minute?! Why is this crap “blog of the minute?!” ArrrggGGHHH!! :D

  16. I love the mouse/remote story. Reminds me of a training course I was assisting on where the same thing happened. Once that issue was resolved, the user couldn’t locate the “any” key. After the monitor shut off due to inactivity, he turned around in his chair and refused to participate any further.

  17. To commemorate your 15 minutes – I give to you -
    “Idiot blog of the minute” and “13 is not a lucky number”.

    I’ll be sipping on your absinthe all evening to celebrate these glorious moments, my humble Mr Angry..

  18. Hey I absolutely agree with you that calling your customers stupid is a self defeating attitude. In fact one of the principles that management students learn is that the customer is always right, and the agent should always try to see things from the customers point of view and then give him valuable advice.

  19. astarwashere

    Just as with any other demographic there will be people who know little, and may be deserving of the ‘stupid’ label. I make it a point to never take this personally and don’t get frustrated with people because I perceive that they are stupid. My sole responsibility is to make them feel at ease with me and help educate them at a rate they feel comfortable with. I want them to know that I am glad to help in any way I can. This is one main reason why I’ve been successful throughout my career in IT.

  20. David

    It is so good to see that there are others who are experiencing this same issue. I work for a University, and you would think that these educated scholars wouldn’t do dumb things! Today, especially was one of those days. Everyone decided today that they would take IT matters into their own hands. Unfortunately, the building where I work, there are no proper channels, just shitty bureaucracy so no going to HR or any higher ups. In fact, they will complain about YOU to the project manager before admitting their own lack of skills.

  21. Good post. If you haven’t been there yet, check out http://www.customerssuck.com‘s “Unsupportable” Forum –
    they have some great stories all about “operator error”.
    Heh.

  22. For years whenever anyone outside the IT industry asked me what I did, I would say “I sit between business people and IT people and stop them killing each other”. The frustration is on both sides.

    I’ve been a stupid user myself. In fact during my best paid contract as a BA an uber-techie was troubleshooting my laptop and needed to launch task manager – he asked me where the del key was. “But it isn’t a Dell” I wimpered, “it’s a Sony”.

    Quite.

    Today I had a very stressed user on the phone, not a stupid one. I rang her to explain a process issue, and was ranted at for a good four minutes. Eventually she ran down like a watch, but not before she was unprofessional verging on the rude. Deep breaths are the only way to deal with that.

    One particular complaint was that the terms used in an email between two technical provisioning teams were too technical for her to understand. Hardly surprising – the email had not been addressed to her, she had been cc’d on it as a matter of courtesy.

    Interestingly, her problems were process problems not technical ones, and would have been exactly the same if she’d been ordering paperclips (the software package had to be put into the catalogue before she could request it for her team). But because it was an IT item it was therefore very difficult for her, very confusing for her, and she was very very cross.

    Bitch.

    Still, we sorted it out for her and, professionals that we are, we’ve escalated it so she will get the item before it goes in the catalogue.

    I am SO glad I don’t work in a call centre.

    Aphra.

  23. Well, I myself act stupid at times! I guess that’s okay…

  24. As a project manager with a functional background, the most successful implementations were those where we had the time to carefully assess users’ real needs and build an easy-to-use, practical, intuitive GUI along with providing very clear, simple, user-oriented training sessions and documentation. The user is the customer and it’s our job to help them get a system (and implementation) that works for them. Focusing on what they don’t know is like their calling us stupid for not knowing their end of the business.

  25. Otter

    Reagarding Snap popups — I just found the solution.

  26. Candice: Yeah, “divorced from reality” pretty much sums up CS courses

    Range: yeah, Snap is a bit intrusive.

    Fi: As someone else pointed out, shooting fish in a barrel means easy. I don’t know if it’s really easy because I’ve never tried it but that’s the generally accepted meaning.

    MrPete: PICNIC is a *way* better acronym! I’m using that from now on!

    Daniel: You? Rant? I can hardly believe it ;)

    Massif: Yeah, hamsters would get out easier than fish. Unless they drowned. Then you wouldn’t need to shoot them. Except for fun. I’m going to stop now.

    Stupidtom: But do you actually stop youself?

    Sandra: willingness to learn counts for a lot. As does ability to bluff!

    Maliha: Yeah, arrogance doesn’t help IT’s cause – that’s why I try to offer helpful advice.

    Xorroxmas: We’re all in it together – you’re not alone.

    Davinator: We are strong if we stick together!

    Daniel: I bribed my way into “blog of the minute ;) Thanks for the links

    Anthony: I love the monitor shut off moment. They were right to give up at that point.

    Ashmu: sometimes customers are wrong. Very, very wrong. But arrogance doesn’t help.

    Asta: yep, the whole “people skills” thing can really help you in IT

    David: one suggestion – get out!

    Manna: thanks, sounds like a good read.

    Aphra: excellent definition of a BA’s role!

    Manas: We’re all stupid sometimes.

    Ronnie: Very good points.

    Otter: thanks for the link!

  27. Hey Mr. Angry, how’s that MacBook working out for ya? Haven’t read about it on your blog for a while.

  28. It’s cool. Still my kids’ favourite toy at the moment. I’m going to be taking classes soon so i can start to get more out of it. It isn’t my primary machine yet.

  29. OK, so here’s a take from who you IT guys probably consider to be a “stupid marketing guy:”

    Dumb customers might just need dumbed-down customer service.

    But if your customers are stupid, and you don’t cater to them, then that’s just stupid business (stupider, actually).

  30. bdunc: that’s a perfectly valid point and one I addressed in the first paragraph – treat customers badly and soon you won’t have a job. This post was a combination of catharsis, recognition of a very real problem and an attempt to provide some coping strategies. Oh and I’m having a laugh too.

    One more point, I’m very much against using jargon at all but particularly not with non-technical people. Simplicity and clarity does not mean dumbed down.

  31. Shadow_Zone

    I’m sorry but I’ve had too many bad experinces with tech support ppl to side w/ the OP.

    One time the firewall was blocking outlook express (I didn’t know it at the time but figured it out later) i was directed from dell’s tech support to mcafee’s tech support through all kinds of computerized directories and having to wait an hour on hold just for some guy from India to redirect me to another company’s tech support. To top it off, all the tech support services only offered support from 9-5 (the time most people are at work) and I was having problems w/ my home computer.

    After Going through all kinds of *Sh!t* to finally get to a tech support guy, I discovered he was another indian.

    Me:”I’d like to change my login ID please”

    Techie:”I’m sorry sir, but I’ll need your login ID”

    Me:”Thats what I said; I’d like to change my login ID”

    Techie:”I’m sorry sir, but I’ll need your login ID”

    after this i just kept screaming ENGLISH! ENGLISH! ENGLISH! ENGLISH! ENGLISH!
    Until finally an american voice came on the line.

    JESUS CHRIST.

  32. gruntski

    The american guy was Jesus Christ???!!??

  33. I think the teclos have fitted a device on every phone that kicks in whenever it notices a phonecall between someone in IT and someone outside of IT and makes both sides thing the other person has the IQ of a potted plant. And not a well-watered one either.

    There are some pretty dumb IT people out there too, and on both sides the problem is communication. We can assume users aren’t really dumb (at least not as often as we thing) or else they wouldn’t keep getting hired, so the issue is how well people can communicate. Poor descriptions of problems and poor descriptions of solutions soon leave everyone unhappy with how a phonecall or email conversation turned out.

    Perhaps we should try to talk to people face to face wherever possible, ask them to *show* us the problem they’re talking about?

  34. Shadowzone: Point one – bad treatment of customers is never justified
    Point two – there’s a world of difference between and outsourced help desk and an IT worker.

    Gruntski: He was lucky wasn’t her. Apparently mormon too – they think jesus was american.

    Robert: Excellent point! Face-to-face trumps all other forms of communication.

  35. Priscilla

    I love you!!!!

  36. Usually only a few users (either the dumbest or the loudest) take up everyone’s time. Users who are polite, shy or intelligent rarely make requests, and tend to get ignored. Stop focusing so much on the idiots, and try to make better software for everyone else. You will still have a job.

  37. sauer kraut

    I have shot fish in a barrel. But then, I am just some stupidhead on the way to the PICNIC.

  38. gruntski

    I have a user at work who hates the way the bullets in Word go from solid circle, to hollow circle to solid square when increasing the indent. He’s demanding we (meaning me) change normal.dot to accomodate his wishes. He doesn’t seem to understand that the other 4500 people that are employed by this “organisation” (and everyone else in the world) would disagree with him, so I emailed him telling him to make his own template. He doesn’t know how, and continues to complain, saying the “behaviour of the bullet points in Word is WILDLY inappropriate for his work”. His demands have been going on for THREE FUCKING YEARS (I slap him down, and he stays quiet for six months, and then he tries again).

    Today, I think I’ll email him and tell him to contact Bill Gates and take up the discussion with him, and to leave me the fuck alone. I’ll probably get in the shit for it, but I’m almost beyond caring.

    • Fred

      Generally speaking; the higher someone is up the corporate ladder, the more technologically illiterate they are and thus their obstinacy cannot be ignored.

  39. one thing the tech guys need to know about your stupid users: it is far too easy for them to bug you, then to try and remember your instructions.
    I used to have a boss who always forgot what I showed her, and I finally asked how come she could not remember things I had demonstrated two minutes ago.
    Her answer was: But why should I? You are right here.
    So they are not stupid but just untrained to think for themselves and use the commonsense mother technology gave them.

  40. Priscilla: I love you too!

    Brad: good point, the squeaky wheel is often responsible for driving the car off the road.

    Sauerkraut: You should try it. It’s therapeutic

    Gruntski: tell him to contact MS’s help desk. You have to PAY to do that. That ought to shut him up.

    Bletebzz: that’s a good point, hold people’s hands for too long and they’ll never want to let go.

  41. Brooke

    I always liked:
    ID10T error, just don’t write it out.

  42. That’s a good code, it sounds technical enough that few people would query you if you said it out loud.

  43. Pingback: WordPress.com » Get a Free Blog Here

  44. Pingback: Idiot users? Nope. Just unfair expectations. « Look alive. Here comes a buzzard.

  45. Pingback: Idiot users? Nope. Just unfair expectations. « Look alive. Here comes a buzzard.

  46. Barney

    FWIW, I think that the original “shooting fish in a barrel” analogy had to do with the barrels of fish taken off a fishing boat. I don’t think that there was any water in those barrels and shooting into the barrel would result in a guaranteed hit.
    As for “stupid users”, it’s been my experience that they understand the words and phrases we use in a different way than techies us them. Their pardigm is different. When we use a phrase it doesn’t conjure up the same image to them as it does to us. Finding out that fact and then changing it so that they think of the same thing as we do is very time consuming, but the only way to make progress. If that is not done then they throw up their hands (or just throw up) and walk out while we can’t understand why they are so “stupid”. Not easy…

  47. Pingback: Look Alive. Here comes a buzzard. » Blog Archiv » Idiot users? Nope. Just unfair expectations.

  48. Barney: thanks for the background on fish in barrels. And the “translation” problem is very real – it’s what I spend most of my life as a BA managing.

  49. Well, here’s an idiot tech story.

    I sit, as I’ve said before, between the world-of-tech and the world-of-business. The world-of-tech has produced a manual to explain role profiling to the business users so that they understand why it’s important. This is for the people whose day jobs are to make the money that pays all our wages.

    The manual is appalling. It misses out information about processes so the users still won’t know what to do to make changes to roles, and it has pages of information about the back end systems which the users should not have to know about. There are chunks of the manual that I don’t understand, so what chance to the poor business users have? To top it off the whole thing is written in ungramatical jargon and tech speak.

    But it’s not the users who’ll suffer, it’s the tech peeps, because it is the tech peeps who will have to deal with the problems.

    So, “idiot tech peeps”, say I, because they wouldn’t know simple, grammatical English if they were hit over their heads with a jargon-free sentence, and they think it is the users who are stupid, not them.

    That’s not what y’all wanted to hear, is it?

    Tell you what – I’ll get me coat.

    Aphra.

  50. Aphra: that’s an excellent illustration of a really important issue. It’s an issue I feel like a really should address (really, really bad behaviour from IT people) but I haven’t figured out the right way to frame it. Plus, while I’m in the trenches I have a tendency to lash at those who make my life a misery rather than the misery my cohorts inflict on others ;)

  51. John

    I go to work and fit hearing aids all day. When my main program cannot access a database I am up the creek. You all have no idea how us stupid users resent so many IT’s that are santimonious, holier than thou, and live in some white castle of knowledge that is so high they never come down. Tell me what button to push, do not use terms that I don’t know. I have never discussed recruitment, permanent distortion due to psychoacoustic disability to access residual hearing caused by an externa media infection that was a side effect from using a headset to you. But when my computer doesn’t work I am out of service. Maybe my receptionist did put a snoopy screensaver on the thing but why can’t someone develope a computer that just plain works. Why do IT folks think we are stupid? Stupid is as stupid does. We are just a product of our experiences. The problem isn’t always between the seat and the monitor. Sometimes the problem is the inability of the person holding the receiver to their ear diagnosing the customer instead of the computer. We sure appreciate the attitude though. I know someone that cannot even type. He cannot feed himself. He has no physical disabilities. He cannot communicate much to me with any verbal articulation. He isn’t stupid, he is my 6 month grandson and I hope he never calls his bread and butter stupid. You all sound like a bunch of weenies. If you shoot fish in a barrel, you will have a holy barrel. I recommend to just use a net.

    • Kris Leblanc

      I am in IT, to answer your question about which button to push, yes it sounds simple, but when the user really does not know where the start button is, or when asking to close a window on th screen, they actually go & close a real window in their office or house, that is stupid…I mean why would I ask that, it has nothing to do with your computer. I was explaining it in English, with non-techie terms. It is those type of users that we deem stupid. If I say simply click start, then click run, don’t get off your chair & start running….It is these things that make me angry, if you can’t use or understand very basic computer terminology in this day & age, then either start learning it, or don’t get a job. My analogy is this, when you bring your car to a garage, you expect it to be fixed…but don’t expect the mechanic to teach you how to drive. In IT, we are there to help & fix issues, not babysit you & teach you basic skills, you should have that already when applying for a job. Also, what bothers many IT people is that you all think your issue is top priority, I really don’t care about your broken mouse if I have a server down that is causing 300 people to not be able to work. After having dealt with family members with cancer, it has made me look closely at life, so many people care about things & put so much effort into things that really don’t matter, why get all worked up about your issues, it will be fixed when it is fixed, stop wanting eveything fixed yesterday, relax.

    • Daniel

      John, I realize I am a bit late to the party, but I feel like I am obligated to reply.

      People are not considered stupid for ignorance of our trade. That label is usually reserved for people ignorant of their own trade, which typically requires the use of a computer. Also, we are not make-sure-its-plugged-in experts, do-not-give-baths-to-electronics experts, or anything of the sort. It should not require an expert in anything to know that power is necessary for the operation of electronics and that electronics and water do not play well together. That is common knowledge, and by effectively ignoring it, users demonstrate that they either lack some VERY fundamental knowledge generally considered necessary for survival or do not even posses basic, general problem solving skills. Both CAN amount to stupid.

      Personally, I reserve stupid for issues like the above combined with arrogance or pride. In IT, we have a lot of tools at our disposal to pinpoint problems, or lack thereof as is often the case, so we see a lot of things that users do not. As a general rule, any unknown user is likely to be a prideful liar, meaning he will lie to himself as much as anyone else. It is not at all uncommon for us to see a user with a smoking gun, shouting and even believing, “I DIDN’T DO IT!!! I DON’T HAVE A GUN! YOU DID IT!” These are the people who truly deserve the moniker. They have no idea what they are talking about, but for whatever reason, they become hostile and refuse to accept the truth. Lies in the troubleshooting process are particularly vexing, as they can make it next to impossible to resolve a problem unless you assume that every word out of a user’s mouth is incorrect or a blatant lie. Let me make it clear, again, that this sort of lying and hostility is not at all uncommon.

      Try not to take the “diagnosing the user” idea too personally. IT’s goal is to resolve the problem, and because such a gross majority of problems are indeed caused by users, the most efficient way of identifying the problem is often to rule out user error. We do not know you or your technical skills, but we do know how long we will spend chasing our tails, each and every day, if we do not rule out dishonesty or incompetence. It is too prevalent. You would not be able to afford our services if we did it your way. Even if you, personally, will not waste our time with stupid nonsense and lies, you are part of a group that does, and you are indistinguishable from the rest. You don’t want to pay for other customers’ stupidity, and they do not want to pay for your potential stupidity.

      That said, things work better when you have a regular IT team and maintain a good relationship with them. We tend to get a feel for who is forgetful, careless, a liar, clueless, or competent. Troubleshooting is MUCH smoother once that happens, because we’ll have a good understanding of what problems you do or do not–or probably will or will not–experience.

      Keep in mind that dealing with the above on a daily basis, being expected to solve problems that do not exist, being blamed despite holding proof the user is responsible, etc, has an effect on the psyche. For those who do it day in and day out, it can be a large one. Just as you would expect a police officer, doctor, or nurse’s job to affect their personality, so to does ours. And not always for the better, mind you.

  52. Sounds like totally justifiable anger, John, and this is the place for justifiable anger. I did try to balance the books a little with a post entitled “the worst IT worker in the world” that addresses some of the very issues you raise.

    Also, you answered your own question with “stupid is as stupid does”.

  53. Pingback: Best of Feeds - 62 links - design, humor, funny, programming, tips, howto « //engtech - internet duct tape

  54. Great post. An IT worker is unfit to give a demo because he goes by rules and not polity that the application addresses. The user’s level of comprehension is the limiting factor of the presentation and you can never raise that level. I have often found that the ridiculous features (spelling, some control checks, override) attracts more attention/satisfaction than complex implementations.

  55. Fro

    I have to disagree with a couple of things from the article. You can have smart users and still have work to do. I have been in IT for almost 20 years and I have seen the full gambit of users. I was at one location where the users were almost all very intelligent. It was amazing. I find I can get more done when not bogged down with stupid questions and training issues. The “stupid” users are actually just people that don’t learn because they are scared of technology, are too lazy or just plain don’t care. Some of you should do what I do and blog about the really bad ones. It’s therapeutic. Check out some of my entries at:

    http://enduseridiots.blogspot.com/

    Peace

  56. You also need to remember that often IT staff are overworked and have to make rational decisions on top of using their brains a lot. It’s very distracting when the same users call over and over again for really lame problems. In today’s modern world, everyone should understand basic computer skills before they are employed.

Leave a Reply

