A scorching new year!

We’re having extremely warm weather in Melbourne at the moment.  To rub it in for people from the Northern hemisphere I mad this video the other day:

I think I’m being punished for it now – we’re having one of the hottest New Year’s Eves on record.  It’s been over 40 degrees Celsius (or 100 Fahrenheit) for most of the afternoon.  And I can’t remember the last time the humidity was so low.  It feels like the moisture is being sucked out of my body every time I go outside.

I actually had an episode in a shop earlier when I went in to buy something.  The shop assistant said the usual “How are you?” greeting and I tried to say “Fine,” but all that came out was a strangled croak.  I had to swallow a few times to create enough moisture in my throat to talk.

I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions.  I suppose I could resolve to getting back to writing for this blog properly but I don’t really need to.  I’m going back to work on Jan 7th and that will put me back in the rhythm to write more regularly.

But it’s interesting to look back on the year.  My readership fairly exploded, thanks mainly to two posts, the Alli diet pill one and the “When insults had class” quotes.  I’ve had a little bit of attention from media (which may still go somewhere – who knows?)  My profile on YouTube has also gone through the roof since the gathering in Melbourne on December 1st.

So 2008 is looking interesting.  I want to thank everyone who reads and comments regularly, it’s that sort of contact that makes putting time into this blog worthwhile.  I hope everyone has a great 2008 and hopefully I’ll get to meet a few of you this year.

Stay safe!

9 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Video Blogging

9 responses to “A scorching new year!

  1. Happy New Year!! I’m jealous of your weather while I’m in Texas being cold.

    BTW – you are a cutie without that mask! :D

  2. Happy New Year! It was a little cold here, but not too much to enjoy last night, by your description I’m rather glad it’s like it is here and not like it is there. 4o fucking degrees! Fuck! The only people who say they envy you are the ones who haven’t experienced that heat.. anyway, congrats on the great year last year and hope it all continues for you.

  3. Happy New Year from a place where there’s snow on the ground!

  4. DOA

    Rub it in? We had some 39C+ days last summer and we’ll have some the next one as well. Global warming is kicking our butts. So now I’m enjoying winter. The colder the better. In fact if I don’t feel the wind go through 3 layers of clothing I just don’t feel comfortable any more.

  5. It’s -28 degrees Celsius here…but I don’t envy you. I enjoy the cold.

    And you should be happy there’s low humidity. Here, when it’s hot, the humidity is 100%, which makes the 35 degrees feel like 50. It sucks all the energy out of you.

    Happy New Year!

  6. You’ve personalized YouTube for a lot of people by bringing your viewers and your readers along on your experience. I think this is why your numbers continue to increase. I suspect that many people who go to YouTube usually watch a clever but random video by somebody, maybe favorite it if it’s good, and then move on to the next one. But you’ve blended your blog with your videos, which is unique, and while videotaping you’ve also kept a running commentary of your own experience with YouTube, which makes it more interesting. I don’t know what a lot of YouTube commentators are talking about when they say they miss the way YouTube used to be, or refer to this “golden age of YouTube”, but I always think of them as being the same people who like to claim they were fans of a rock band long before everyone else heard of them.
    Have an Angry New Year!

  7. Bite me! Bite me! BITE ME!!!!

    It got down to 19 degrees (F) in freaking Southern Georgia. I’m FREEZING!!!! Augh!!!!

    Kitty needs some warmth…brrrrrrrr……

  8. lizzy

    **sniff sniff** No fair! Six out of the last seven days in northern California have been extremely rainy. And cold. Bloody cold. Supposedly it’s 49 deg. F outside, but I don’t believe it. My hands were numb in the conveniently air-conditioned classroom I spent most of tonight in. Yes, we wrongly air-condition buildings during the winter in the San Francisco area. Argh.

    And don’t complain too much about the over 100 degree dry weather. Give your weather about 20-30% humidity, and you’ll never dry off, ever. Our Central Valley gets horribly humid during the summer from all the water evaporating off the irrigation ditches. It’s typically a minimum of 100 degrees outside in the shade. And inside, you get “cooled off” by horrid swamp coolers that condense even more water all over you– bleh! If you get out of the shower, you’re sopping wet all day, no matter how many towels you try to dry yourself off with.

    I envy you your heat, and your wonderful, sunny, sunny (and dry) weather. There’s nothing like wonderful dry heat!

  9. Happy Angry New Year!

    It was about 15-20 C in Taiwan when I left in January. Right now, it’s -20 C in Quebec!

Leave a Reply

