The prosecution of George W Bush for murder

Every now and then I see someone else in action and I go “Now THAT is how you do anger!”  Today’s example of well-justified anger at its finest is former Los Angeles County prosecutor Vincent Bugliosi.  This guy prosecuted Charles Manson.  He was so pissed off when OJ Simpson got away with murder he wrote a book called Outrage.  And now he is speaking out in the strongest terms against George W Bush saying Bush should be prosecuted for first degree murder.

He isn’t coming at this from a moral point of view, he’s saying according to criminal statutes Bush is guilty of first degree murder.  Okay, I’m pretty sure he’s coming at it from a moral point as well.  But he’s framing it in legal terms.  And then he’s using some very colourful language presenting his case.

For those of you who are not cursed with a short attention span, following this link will take you to a partial transcript of a 2 hour speech he gave along with a lot of video footage from that speech.  Even if you think you have a short attention span, I urge you to check it out.  When you make your career presenting in high level courts you end up with (or maybe start out with) quite a gift for oratory.  And it is awesome to see an intelligent, eloquent, experienced, impassioned speaker get really fucking angry.

OK, I know some people will still use the short attention span cop-out so I’ll provide you with some highlights:

On why Bush should be prosecuted for murder:

“In my book… I present evidence that proves beyond all reasonable doubt that George Bush took this nation to war on a lie, under false pretenses, and therefore under the law is guilty of murder for the deaths of over 4,000 young American soldiers who died so far in this war.”

“If a conspirator, or anyone for that matter, deliberately sets in motion a chain of events which he knows will cause – that’s the key word – cause a third party innocent agent to commit an act, the defendant is criminally responsible for that act.”

“Bush can only wash his hands of culpability if he did not take this nation to war under false pretenses. If he did, which the evidence overwhelmingly shows, he is criminally responsible for the deaths of all those American soldiers who have died fighting his war in Iraq.”

On the American right wing:

“There are no more repugnant, hypocritical and un-American – and that’s the word I want to emphasize – un-American people in our society today than the right wing.”

On possible mitigating circumstances for Bush and Co:

“And there is one thing that I should probably say in partial defense of these people that goes in mitigation, arguably reduces their moral culpability. And what I’m talking about is that many of these people are incredibly stupid. And they make up for their stupidity by being extremely ignorant. And when you combine stupidity with ignorance that’s a toxic combination.”  

Some general fun quotes:

“And the question I have of you, is how evil, how perverse, how sick, how criminal can George Bush and his people be?”

“What type of a human monster is George Bush?”

“If I ever killed one person in my life, even accidentally – a car accident – I’d never have another perfect day as long as I lived. George Bush is responsible for the horrible deaths of thousands of human beings and he is talking about having a perfect day. Bush’s plans to have a perfect day right in the middle of all the death and horror in Iraq goes so far beyond acceptable human conduct that no moral telescope can discern its shape, form and nature.”

And I’ll close with Bugliosi basically summing up my life philosophy.  He’s raging against Clinton prosecutor Ken Starr (who he calls “one of the most reprehensible figures in American history”) and he says:

“I seem to be getting more angry and acerbic and caustic and that’s because I am always in a state of rage, how can I help but be?”

I enjoy my own outburst of creative anger but occasionally, I just like to sit back and watch a master.

Wax on, wax off.

18 Comments

Filed under Politics

18 responses to “The prosecution of George W Bush for murder

  1. Hmmm. I only listened to 15 mins, or so (sorry: short attention span), but I think he’d have done better, and been fairer, if he’d acknowledged that American soldiers could be viewed as conspirators, and that Shrub is culpable for the death of Iraqis via those American soldiers. The argument that he put forward (and that I heard), concerned only the deaths of Americans, at the hands of Iraqis. That’s looks a bit one-sided to me, although it might be because American courts have no jurisdiction over the deaths of Iraqis in Iraq.

    On the subject of Shrub’s stupidity, I think I’m inclined to argue against that, because I’ve never met anybody who was stupid. However, he most certainly is arrogant, because he doesn’t think he has to listen to anybody, except, presumably, his Dad.

    Matt

  2. At the end of the day, somebody had to do it.

    Running a country must be difficult, and you don’t make an omelet without breaking eggs.

    4000 soldiers may have died, but how many civilians got electricity or petroleum for their cars?

    I’m not justifying the invasion (that’s really what it was if you ask me). I’m just saying if it wasn’t Bush.. it would have been someone else.

    I know there’s been a lot of suffering over it, but it’s hardly the worst crime committed upon humanity. Look at World War 1 for example.

  3. simon23

    4000 soldiers may have died, but how many civilians got electricity or petroleum for their cars?

    I condemn anyone who thinks it is ok to exchange human lives for commodities, the invasion was blatantly over fuel and not about getting rid of a tyrannical leader which makes it unacceptable in my opinion.

    And those 4000 soldiers who died for some gasoline would be majorly pissed off with you for saying that when you greet them in hell.

  4. simon23

    Edit: you may not be jusifying it but comparing it to other atrocities saying it was smaller doesnt make it right, murder over some resources is still murder.

    The number of people dying is obselete, i’m sure if you were going to die for your car because someone else wanted it you would agree.

  5. I don’t own or have use of a car. I never asked them to to invade, but I use electricity. I’m just saying that I can understand why they did it. Money.

    …and if Bush has to “pay the price” then who else does too? Perhaps the food agencies, charities, arms dealers, drug dealers, tobacco companies, policemen, health service officials, soldiers…

    All of these people are doing jobs that somebody just has to do.. to earn money. They take this money and provide for their kids\families\countries whatever.

    I never killed no Iraqi’s that I know of, so please don’t give me a hard time for simply being realistic.

  6. simon23

    Goatsoup-could you kill for your electricity if there were other ways of getting it, other more moral ways?, maybe more expensive ways but less destructive.

    Personally i would rather not use fuel that has been accquired through the mass murder of fellow humans if i can help it, unfortunately if i were in a country where fuel was accquired through mass murder and the only way i could survive and feed a family was to use that fuel to get to work and back then i’d use it until there was another way.

    I would only kill for survival unless there was another option that doesnt require murder that i knew about.
    Your realism is too convenient for businesses and governments, they seperate the death from the rewards and distance themselves from the fact it was found through blood and murder, they live with it by thinking it was neccesary to get what they wanted, alternate energy sources for cars are avaliable, alternate fuel is availiable for electricity.

    Your right about the money is not cheap for these things but they do whats cheapest and most convenient.

    The dead people would disagree if they could speak.

    Sorry for the long comment mr angry, but i havent reached the limit, i guess you put one there.

  7. No, I couldn’t kill anyone for their fuel/gas/electricity. That being said; I couldn’t strangle a chicken, but I still enjoy KFC sometimes.

    I’m just part of the working class, who enjoys being humble. The reason we have politicians (and butchers) in our society is to do the jobs not everyone wants to do.

    One man shouldn’t be held responsible. Let’s face it -Bush is only a puppet anyway. Alcohol and tobacco killed (and is still killing) thousands more innocent lives every day.

    I agree with you that it’s not fair, but executing Bush won’t change anything, or bring back any disagreeing dead people.

    Feeling sad about human suffering is just nature’s way of saying “Just be glad it’s not you”. As we all know, sometimes nature can be cruel.

  8. Jay Ney

    Look at what at 9/11 happened. This awful, most awful terrorist attack on USA since Pearl Harbor. Everyone was affected. Something have to happened to get angry after that. So get IRAQ. well, Saddam acting like having these weapons. Look at terrorists that caused all this, not Bush. My view that we should have troops in MidEast. And I rather have fighting terrorists in Iraq not in NYC, LA, Philly, or other USA places. We didn’t have a terror attack in USA since 9/11. Maybe Bush saved lot of innocent people in USA. Save anger for something more concrete to help, than condemn a lame duck President.

    Have a Patriotic Fourth!!!

  9. Jay Ney wrote:
    “…Look at terrorists that caused all this, not Bush…”

    “That which we call a rose by any other name would smell” like shit! Nothing occurs in a vacuum. People become violent because they believe that they are under threat. Bush has done nothing, as I understand it, to give anybody to understand that they will be safe, unless they follow his administration slavishly. And I include the UK in that. Anybody who rules by coercion is a corrupt fuck. And Bush is a corrupt fuck. If Bin Liner rules his people by coercion, then he’s a corrupt fuck, too.

    Matt

  10. Didn’t read the book Outrage, and hadn’t heard of Vinny B before; interesting thoughts about Bush nonetheless.

    Hmmm … So he’s the guy who prosecuted Manson? For a couple of years, I was totally FASCINATED with that case and the Jonestown stuff. If you’ve not seen “The People’s Church” or whatever that Jim Jones documentary is called, definitely check it out. VERY interesting doc!

  11. Matt: The quote about “will cause… a third party innocent agent to commit an act” goes to using soldier to kill Iraqis. Also W doesn’t listen to his daddy because Snr knew invading Iraq was a bad idea.

    Goatsoup: I have no idea if you’re employing irony but on the face of it, that comment is wrong in every important way.

    Simon: Comment as long as you think you require :) I don’t change any WordPress defaults.

    JayNey: almost too many factual inaccuracies there to count.

    Matt: I’m with you regarding the corrupt fucks!

    Twanna: Human insanity is often fascinating :)

  12. “The quote about “will cause… a third party innocent agent to commit an act” goes to using soldier to kill Iraqis. Also W doesn’t listen to his daddy because Snr knew invading Iraq was a bad idea.”

    Oh, well: he’s “bang to rights,” then! As to Shrub, Snr, I’m stumped, now – where the fuck does Jnr get his fucked up ideas from, then?

    Matt

  13. I’m sorry I don’t want to cause offense, especially here. I’m just being honest and telling it exactly how it looks to me.

    I’m not behind this invasion and I never supported it. I’m not being ironic either, sorry for any possible misunderstandings. I’m not the best at expression.

    I can understand why they did it. It was a cheap solution to the fuel crisis. America don’t even need to dip in to the secret homeland fuel reserve.

    If it wasn’t Bush, it would have been some other power-rich illuminati ritualist. It was probably all arranged over coffee at The Bilderberg.

    …and unless you can execute all of the financial institutions in the world; you can’t send Bush to Death Row. If General Augusto Pinochet can get-out-of-jail free for all his atrocities; What’s going to happen over this? A few hundred thousand angry posts on the internet? Maybe a few movies.

    I never said I liked it, I just told the truth. Compared to all the bad things that happened in the 20th and 21st Century it’s not nearly as bad as issues such Somalia, Mozambique or Ethiopia. I don’t understand why people are fired-up so much over Iraq/Bush/911 and not the whole picture.

    Without causing further offense, would it be possible to explain what I said that was wrong?
    I’m honestly not being a troll. I’m not the most sensitive of patients though, admittedly. I’m just trying to understand more and improve myself in the process.

  14. Tom

    Mr. Angry,

    You may know more about America than the average American. That tidbit and a couple of comments I saw on a blog called “Early Christian America” (not sure what that means or how it is I ended up there) prompted the an essay from Chastise Man (who appreciates the art form of righteous anger very much). If you care to, the essay is here (and not too long – in case of short attention span, though probably not a problem for Mr. Angry):
    http://www.properlychastised.com/2008/07/06/liberals-are-killing-america/

  15. Matt: Dick fucking Cheney

    Goatsoup: The casual dismissal of acts that have killed anywhere from 100,000 to over a million people and may ultimately be responsible for the deaths of FAR more is what seemed wrong to me. You really think Pinochet killed that many?

    Tom: Thanks, I try not to take things for granted. And I read. I shall enjoy reading the article you linked to!

  16. Charlie Kehoe

    I saw Mr. Bugliosi on C-span and was thrilled. I finally understood why I’ve been so angry for so many years. Bush is a murderer

  17. Charlie Kehoe

    Sorry, got cut off. I’m a geezer, 71. I flew Navy jets in the McCain era but got out and went back to school before Viet Nam. I was never asked to kill anyone and never have. I would have required a reason but don’t blame the troops for obeying what they considered a lawful order. The author makes a case so compelling that we must all get behind it. I knew, you should all have known if you were paying attention, that the 9/11 murderers had nothing to do with Iraq. When we morn our dead, we should piss on their graves. But Bush manipulated our nation to war and must be tried. I knew, along with millions of Americans watching in horror, that war on Iraq was a drastic and irrational response. Consider: inspectors roamed the country for years; Air Force and Navy aircraft patrolled the skies; satellite imagery tracked all development and movement; the “mushroom cloud” of Powell, Rice and others, while Bush led the orchestra, was absurd–the Iraqis had no such capability but if they had, they could not have delivered it (couldn’t have gotten it across the Tigris and Euphrates). This war was whooped up by amoral neocons and Bush, who knew better, as Bugliosi makes quite clear, pulled the trigger. Peace, Charlie, Obama for President

  18. Nice to hear from you Charlie. There are so many reasons to be angry at him. Not least that a soldier’s job is hard enough without being put in harm’s way so unnecessarily.

Leave a Reply

