Mr Angry and the Scientologists

I wasn’t going to touch Scientology again for a while because I don’t like to run themes into the ground but some of the comments that appeared on YouTube prompted me to follow up with a story I’d been considering sharing for a while.  There were two main types of comments that prompted me to revisit the topic.

The first were comments from Scientologists.  Some identified themselves as such and said they weren’t so bad.  More often, they claimed to not be Scientologists but proclaimed to support the “Church” of Scientology (CoS) in the name of fighting bigotry.  These idiots were so laughably obvious I have no idea why they insisted on the charade.  I guess they were going with the “sucker born every minute” line of thinking and they assume if they repeat blatant falsehoods often enough at least someone will believe them.

The second type of comments that troubled me were from atheists spouting the “all religions are the same” line.  While that’s a seductive line of thinking, particularly to unsophisticated thinkers, it simply isn’t true.  It’s a lot of fun to say “They have crazy beliefs about other-worldly powers that defy logic?  Sound like every religion to me,” or “Their sole reason for existence is to control the minds and lives of their followers and take as much of their money as possible?  Isn’t that what Christianity has been doing for over 1,000 years?”  The thing is, CoS is different.

From the first contact you have with them, the primary goal of CoS is to manipulate you.  They want to find out what’s important to you, how you think, what you want in life.  And they won’t hesitate to lie to you to bring you into their sphere of influence.  The difference between CoS trying to get your money and, say, the Catholic Church (of whose methods I have intimate knowledge) trying to get your money is pretty straightforward.

Catholics try to guilt you into giving them your money voluntarily.  CoS try to force you to pay for your enlightenment.  Catholics are more than willing to give out their version of enlightenment free of charge.  In fact, like most Christians, they’ll gleefully push their beliefs and teaching on anyone who doesn’t run fast enough.  CoS absolutely will not share their teachings with anyone who does not pay for them.  They have repeatedly sued people who have distributed their teachings freely on the grounds that their copyright is being infringed.

You know, like money making corporations do.

You can argue, sometimes convincingly, that all religions push inherently dangerous beliefs and try to manipulate people.  But CoS is different in that they are pushing a deliberately fabricated set of teachings for the sole purpose of making money.  They use all the cult tricks to attain their ends.  They are dangerous.

In this video, I tell the story of how I took the CoS “free personality test”.  Turns out I didn’t have one.  LOL!  I kid, I kid.  What I did learn from taking this test is that the test itself is dangerous.  It is designed to find out where you are vulnerable.  It is designed to find your psychological weaknesses.  And these people will not hesitate to exploit anything they find.  They will lie and tell you that Scientology addresses you core concerns directly.  This is a lie because this is what they say to everybody.  And it can’t possibly be true for everybody.

This test is the simplest level of contact you can have with CoS.  It is the first thing they do with people.  And it is dangerous.  It is not a harmless bit of fun that might show you a little about yourself.  It is the doorway to letting some really ruthless people take control of your life.  They don’t care what damage they do to you.  All they want to do is widen their sphere of influence.  Don’t make the mistake of thinking they’re the same as any other religion.  That is a lie that they want you to believe.

The biggest danger to CoS is former members breaking free and letting the truth of their inner workings be known.  Their greatest hope is to gain more and more converts before the truth about them is known widely enough.

21 Comments

Filed under Video Blogging

21 responses to “Mr Angry and the Scientologists

  1. anyoldanon

    thanks for the scienostory…once again its bang on the money

    Your statement “Their greatest hope is to gain more and more converts before the truth about them is known widely enough.” is absolutely correct and is the reason scientology is so determined to marginalize the anonymous phenomenon. The truth IS getting out there, thanks to the >9000 critics, including blogs like your own.

    (and to continue your comparison: the Catholic Church would not have made my friend’s daughter disconnect from her entire family because Mom wouldn’t pony up the inheritance NOW instead of when Mom actually died…and we’re not talking a ton of money either, AND Mom needs the money to live on between now and then. Very, very sad situation…and very, very dangerous cult)

  2. Excellent post. Thanks for having the bravery to share. Let us know if you get sued for this post.

  3. I’m sure I’ve mentioned Jay Lifton’s Mind Reform techniques on this blog, before, but do Google, if the term’s new to you.

    I had an interesting idea, when I watched your video (my idea might actually be as boring as hell, but I thought it was interesting!). The thing is, with multichoice, the chances are that there are going to be options, there, that you’ve never considered, before. Having to consider stuff that is not habitual IS tiring, it requires mental energy, and the brain is the most energy-hungry organ we have (yes, yes, crack your own jokes, concerning organs, at this point!). Presented with a really long multichoice, that is going to be tiring. And confusing, if one starts to consider possibilities that one hasn’t considered, before, just by dint of having had them suggested.

    But the rudimentary psychological bollox is truly tedious. Bloody hell, it’s like the old trick of sitting at a table, in a restaurant, with a work colleague that you’re trying to outmanoevre, picking up the cruet, and putting them down on your colleague’s side of the table, slowly moving everything except your own plate to their side, making them feel pressured, and hemmed in – don’t try this at home: it’s a fucking horrible thing to do – a bit like the standing in front of the door thing. How fucking tedious and amateurish these people are.

    I’ll tell you what to do, if you ever encounter them. State your objective, up front. So, say, “you know, I WILL talk to you, but you know what, just talking to you is going to make me the best person in the world, so I won’t actually have to join your organization.” And you know what? You’ll make it true.

    Matt

  4. tom

    i’m reluctant to even comment on a blog post about that subject – i learned the hard way from a rant i did on mormons that they will latch onto you like a dog with a bone and not let go until they’ve come as hard as they can in that icky way they do (ooh) … just wanting to wish you luck with this particular bear trap

  5. Greetings.. great post and I’d like to say I agree 100%
    I also took the free personality test and came to pretty much the same conclusions as you, they use it to identify and target your vulenerabilities, then they attack those, making you feel flawed, self conscious and finally, they make you feel hopeful as they say something along the lines of “Worry not… Scientology can fix you right up”
    Hmm…
    According to them I’m one walking personality flaw.. funny stuff..
    The ironic thing is that my entire investigation into Scientology began as a genuine interest.. A friend suggested I give the local org a try, and I followed her advice.. Luckily for me I did some research first and went in armed with actual knowledge of the facts, that’s like anethema to scientologists… That was a few weeks ago and is the reason my blog has turned into a dedicated anti-scientology resource with updates on my interactions with them and the information I find about them… Anyway, enough babbling…
    Keep it up angry man

  6. Holy wow. Thanks so much for posting this. People really need to learn to take these guys seriously! I actually took a free stress test awhile ago (not the personality quiz) and the guy tried to hard-sell me Dianetics, which, under pressure, they claim to have nothing to do with Scientology. Weird. Keep up the good work, you brave angry man! XD

  7. Darth Paul

    They’re barely a religion at all. I have no trouble with people suckering others out of their money…that’s been going on in some form or another as long as wealth has existed. It’s their blatantly sh!tty, hypocritical, smug attitude and sense of entitlement that sickens me.

    As for how to get rid of them, invite them to a (fake) S&M drugs party or (if you’re a male dealing with another male) act like you’re hitting on them. They’ll back off quicker than Mormons would.

  8. Anyold: As you say, they are far worse than any established religion

    TT: They’re playing nice lately, they seem to have backed away from threatening people online.

    Matt: They know all the tricks for wearing down resistance

    Tom: They have far bigger fish to fry than me

    Unmasked: Yeah, they’re not particularly subtle. But they don’t have to be when they are targeting people’s vulnerabilities

    Noni: I just thought it was worth sharing my experience

    Darth: I don’t think you’ve heard the story of what they get up to at sea!

  9. Vladimir

    > the Catholic Church would not have made

    Still, there are related rhetorics in the Bible, concerning disconnection from the relatives (war against them, even), concerning giving up all your belongings, and some other funny stuff. Not even mentioning all the atrocities committed by the very same Catholic Church in its earlier days…

  10. AA wrote:
    “Matt: They know all the tricks for wearing down resistance”

    I’m not sure. Simply invalidating anything that a person might believe that runs contrary to the interests of the Church is a simple trick. It’s trivial to batter somebody down, in this way. But that’s not what the Church claims to do – it claims to be some kind of path to enlightenment. Why is it necessary to lead people into the light (whatever the fuck that might be) via coercion, or forced choice (ie, in order to not be invalidated, anymore, a person simply gives up and follows the belief system that they’re told to believe)?

    I’ve never met any Scientologists, as far as I know, but if this is what they do, then they’re cheap, nasty, little charlatans, who appear to have scant regard for the psychological wellbeing of their converts.

    Matt

  11. gap

    I remember taking that “test” pre-employment. The way they put it to me was “You did (really, really well.)” They also had me take what appeared to look like an aptitude test. All in all, I took a lot of tests. About half way through this nonsense, I realized that they were going to hire me, so I amused myself through the rest of the day.

    The next several months they stuck me in an office and told me to work through all the files there. Those files were stacked up to the ceilings. They were customer files and my job was to make contact, collect any money due, resolve any customer service issues and then write a little report daily on what transpired.

    They told me I was allowed to use the phone for personal business and encouraged it in fact. I didn’t think that odd at all, so I used their phone (I was young).

    For the next 3 months they attempted to convert me, using every last detail of my personal life. Despite that fact their testing me showed a high aptitude, it never occurred to me how utterly stupid it was to use their phones to discuss my life. The woman in charge of converting me was just a few years younger. She came across as a sweet lil Christian girl and innocent as could be. I believe in a lot of ways most of the young people there were pretty oblivious to the depth of manipulation going on. That or they enjoyed it. Before long half the company was on my tail trying to get me to come to their after hour meetings. I politely said no. The more I declined, the more bizzare their tactics became – and I started to detect a bit of hostility toward me…I let that go. I wasn’t interested in what they thought. It was a sort of game, until one day they sent the innocent lil Christian type to corner me by using every last detail I had stupidly shared via their company phone. She began to interrogate me, preach morality and share that she was sincerely concerned for the outcome of my life.

    Now I release sharing this story makes me seem like an idiot – which I suppose I was at the time what with my blabber phone mouth. During the last several weeks of my employ with these people the conversion tactics became so hard to deal with that I almost considered quitting on my own – but instead I hunkered down and tried dodging each manipulation.

    One day while working their customer files I came upon this one strange looking file that looked like a raging lawsuit. I read it over completely and thoroughly and then walked it into the boss lady’s office to let her know it probably had been placed in my office by mistake.

    Soon after this I began getting mouthy and more than politely declined invitation to their after hours meetings. I told them point blank that I wasn’t interested, would never be, and to please drop it, but let them know I appreciated their efforts.

    Within a week I was told that I’d done such a great job that I’d worked myself right out of a position. I knew this was utter bullshit and so I approached the boss lady and told her I understood exactly what was going on. The once very kind, compassionate seeming woman now glared at me as if she were going to gut me. On the way out I bluffed her and let her know that I’d made photo copies of that strange looking file because I thought it very interesting reading.

    And wouldn’t you know, the next week, they were advertising that very same job under a different job title.

    The whole experience was foreboding and left a bad taste in my mouth. But whatever psychological vulnerability they originally sought in me wasn’t enough, apparently, to allow myself to be drawn into their darkness. The scary part was that maybe just a few years earlier in my life and it would have been enough.

  12. Vlad: here and now, the cult og scientology is far worse than any established church

    Matt: they are indeed cheap, nasty, little charlatans, who have scant regard for the psychological wellbeing of their converts

    Gap: sharing is a positive thing – your experiences can help other people.

  13. spark

    As an ex-$cientologist I can confirm what’s been said here. The upper management doesn’t care a bit about the peon’s at the bottom. They are tools. It IS all about the money and the power. David Miscavige, or tinydavey as we who left the church like to call him due to his small stature and even smaller brain, is one of the most savage, sadistic little bastards I’ve ever ran across. Well, except for Hitler and L. Ron Hubbard that is.
    Keep on telling the truth about the cult! We’re all loving it. Go Anonymous!

  14. The more you hear about them (from ex-members) the creepier it gets.

  15. I’m rather glad, make that extremely glad, that it hasn’t reached its branches into this part of the world.

    …Right?

    It’s hard to tell, now that they have a higher level of secrecy. They’re also gaining a higher level of “normalcy” simply by becoming more common, largely in part to the media around Tom Cruise and the spreading influence among his celebrity friends.

    I’m scared. :(

  16. I don’t remember if I have ever posted this idea here before as I have posted it a few different sites… Anyway, my personal was of attacking the CoS is by always clicking on their banner ads whenever I come across them. This costs them a little bit of money and it likely means once less add that will appear that could lead someone into their clutches. I don’t know how money they spend, but most pay-per-click banner advertisers have a daily limit (at least with Google Ads) they are willing to spend. So, if every atheist or other non-deluded person were to do this as well, all of CoS’s ads would get wasted. They lose money and the chance to trick someone into their clutches.

    I find this especially satisfying when the banner ad appears next to an anti-religious or anti-CoS post. For example, my religion category on my blog invariably has a CoS ad on it — in case you have a hard time finding one.

  17. Choco: It’s reached into most parts of the world, and they don’t seem to feel like pulling back at all.

    Wisdumb: I like your approach. Particularly if you do it on my YouTube channel as that will get me money.

  18. Good story over again. I am looking forward for your next post:)

  19. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will share this site with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  20. You can always support me via my YouTube channel!

  21. Pingback: When i 1st laid eyes on the King……. – (29 Replies) | I love Watches!

Leave a Reply

