What’s the worst that could happen?

I notice that another person's online life has fucked up their "real world" existence. A Texan schoolteacher by the name of Tamara Hoover lost her job because their were topless photos of her on Flickr. Pretty dumb thing to do (IMHO) but still, she was topless, not on her knees fucking the school football team. I have to admit, if I was her I wouldn't want to go back to teaching knowing that all the students and staff have now had an opportunity to check out her norks.

It has been suggested to me that this blog could have a negative impact on me and it isn't as if I haven't considered the possibility. For those who haven't guessed (or read what I've posted) the mask is a half-arsed attempt to obscure my identity. Anybody who knows me would recognise me instantly so I'm not sure why I bother. At least random strangers wouldn't recognise me.

I have also been very careful to keep truly personal content to a minimum and obscure the facts a bit when I talk about work. The one that could "out" me is Moroccan Chocolate because I actually used that analogy at work and I think I'm currently the #1 Google result for "Moroccan Chocolate". The IT job market in Melbourne is small, incestuous and conservative. If it became generally known I was a blogger it might make people paranoid to hire me so I'm keeping things pseudo-anonymous. I have to face facts that this will inevitably come up one day so I have made the following decision (see if I stick to it when the crunch comes):

Blogging has opened up so many options to me I am not giving it up. I would give up a job before giving up my blog. At the moment, I am making what is to me a shitload of money. I'm worth it (based on the job market and my experience) bit it's still way more than I ever thought I'd be making. I'm essentially a simple country boy. To get top dollar I have to fight pretty hard and this is where I could face trouble. If I was up against someone of similar experience for a role and they knew I was a blogger who hangs shit on people and the other candidate wasn't, I think many employers would go with the other one.

If all the contract agencies gossiped together and decided I was a risk for high profile jobs, my response would be "fuck you in the neck" if you think I'm knuckling under. I could take a 50% pay cut and still be earning more than people who do way harder work. And if I cut my rate, I'd be competing with graduates and other inexperienced candidates so I think employers would be likely to overlook the blog risk because they'd be getting me at a bargain rate. And I'd get some notoriety for being the latest victim of offline persecution for online activities which would give my blog more of the attention I so desperately crave.

So my pledge to readers is: I intend to keep blogging no matter what. And any fucker thinks they can fuck with me has no fucking idea who they're fucking with!

13 Comments

Filed under Blogging

13 responses to “What’s the worst that could happen?

  1. When i was a my cousin Jans memorial on Monday, one of the cousins wives said….was that YOUR blog I stumbled into the other day….the BASTARDS??? ‘Yes’ I say, ‘how did you find it’? Just typed in Jan name and there you were. That simple.

    ” And any fucker thinks they can fuck with me has no fucking idea who they’re fucking with! ”

    I should have bought you a shirt like I got the Bastard boys in Key West Florida. It says “Fuck you, you fucking fuck.” 😀

  2. saly

    Sandra, Try this – (http://www.snapshirts.com/index.php?sid=910e09973bb2fd3bcc5de76b11e96414)

    Mr. Angry, Hip, Hip, Hooray! And you can also custom make a snapshot of your blog from the link above. It shows the most occuring words in bold and large font. Can you guess which word will be in bold for your blog?

  3. Hell Boy

    whatever shit happens, you’re gonna keep on writing?!! hhhmmm that’s a good idea.
    btw seems yo earn more than yo need ,wanna gimme the extra, i know how to spend it devilishly!

    sandra can yo buy me one of those shirts?!

  4. I have debated about this with myself a number of times. I censor myself, I don’t get too personal with some details, I’ve edited my profiles not to reveal too much information, but in the end, my photo is on my blog.

    I guess most of us would like to be able to quit our day jobs and blog as a career or partly at least. Since I have my own company, I don’t mind this, but if I ever get back into a corp world, I guess I would censor myself even more. I don’t blog about clients or work really. I try to use the blog as a way to express a side of myself that I have laid to rest for a few years.

    I would hate to get dooced, and I believe Mr Angry, you wouldn’t want to either. So keep on the mask, change your name and enter a pseudonym on technorati and make sure that you can keep working.

    Some of my close friends are aware that I blog, but I haven’t told a whole lot of people. I think I will, because I try to keep a modicum of respect, however, if anyone really wants to track my comments and such, there can be questionable ones found.

    I try to google myself from time to time to see if anything pops up. Until now, I have had no problems, because I use my pseudonym or nickname at all times. But as always, if someone really wants to find out who I am they can.

    Onto another random thought, I will be travelling until Sunday and I am not looking forward to moblogging with my cell phone. I hate typing with numeric keypads, it’s so slow and annoying.

    Its the Grand Prix of Montreal and I will be there, courtesy of an company I have ties to. And, It’s the Fete de la St-Jean-Baptiste, Quebec’s state wide holiday. I will be taking a lot of pictures.

    Have fun!

  5. Saly, I have designed a Bastard Clan t-shirt. It is pretty cool. I did it at: http://customink.com/cink/cinku1index.html
    it was great fun.😀

    Hope you have fun in Montreal Range.

  6. I pass up so many good post possibilities because there’s too much danger I’d “out” myself to the wrong person or, worse, upset someone who didn’t deserve to be upset.

    So I stay pseudo-anonymous, wear my mask and use a pseudonym on Technorati. Still having fun though.

    And hella jealous of you Range.

  7. I’m trying to think of possible reasons blogging would be a problem?

    How many ppl would you exempt from working for you coz they blog? There’s MILLIONS of us out there, mwahahahahahahahahaa! Ha.

  8. Salamaat,
    I don’t think you have any reason to worry…

    you have too much going for you. logistically it’s impossible for companies to keep track of who is doing what online. or so i tell myself.

  9. Salamaat Maliha an Maryam. You are both positive thinkers. I hope I also only come up against positive thinkers in the job market if and when I get “outed”

  10. Jealous?

    Man I just came back from Quebec City, after the 2nd Barbecue with my mates, having stuffed myself so badly that I almost vomitted. I then proceeded to buy a hell of a lot of smart drinks, drank them to drive down to Montreal. Its 01:00 AM, I just arrived, I have not slept enough, and I have to wake up tomorrow to go to the Grand Prix. Whew!

    On another subject, I was able to take at least 400 photos until now. I’m going to take at least another 100 tomorrow. Some of them are pretty good.

  11. bigstarlet

    Sometime last year, I made the mistake of revealing my previous blog url to one of (it turned out to be) my chattier ex-coworkers (I guess I was under the old impression that most peeps wouldn’t know a blog if it hit ’em with a two by four). In about a week, EVERYONE at my old office was reading the damn thing. Which I guess normally wouldn’t have been a bad thing, except I bitched about some interpersonal issue I had with one of my cube farm peeps, and that discovery almost got me dooced.

    Fortunately, they liked me enough to keep me on (and I was a temp, for chrissakes!), but they threw in a caution about blogging about staff members, and I had to clear out the more salacious things I said about people (they were thankful that I didn’t discuss company business, but, in this case, it probably wouldn’t have mattered).

    These days, I have my new blog. Not much personal goes in there (what does is password protected), I don’t even think about blogging about work (again, if I kvetch about work issues, they’re password protected, or even private), and while most co-workers at my new job are sophisticated enough to know about blogs, they damn well don’t know about mine! :p

  12. Starlet, I’ve done very little personally identifying things about work so I think I’m likely OK. I only have to worry about really paranoid bosses. Hey, I’m a contractor. I just go to another contract if there’s a problem. That’s the theory anyway.

  13. Oh shit, another doocee!
    You have to be careful about stuff like that, but it’s hard to censor yourself.

Leave a Reply

