Is this the perfect Martini variation for beginners?

The Martini is one of my favourite cocktails (dry with a twist of lemon, thanks) but I freely admit it can be a challenge to get into. I’ve seen a few ways to give people a gentler introduction to Martinis and recently found this recipe on the Difford’s Guide website. It’s called the Argentina Cocktail (no idea why) and it starts with a dry gin/dry vermouth base the adds some modifiers that make the drink more approachable.

This drink is really good in its own right but I do like the idea of using it to provide a gateway to the world of Martinis – a drink more people should be enjoying. Another thing in its favour is this is an easy to prepare drink:

1oz/30ml dry gin
1oz/30ml dry vermouth
1/4oz/7.5ml orange liqueur
1/4oz/7.5ml DOM Benedictine
1 dash orange bitters
1 dash Angostura bitters

Stir all ingredients on ice then strain into a chilled cocktail glass. Served up with no garnish. I score this an 8 out of ten – I’d definitely make this again.

1 Comment

Filed under 8/10, Cocktails, Gin

One response to “Is this the perfect Martini variation for beginners?

  1. I still go for a dry martini as my first choice!

    Like

Leave a comment